BS Bassi appointed as a new member of UPSC

Former Delhi Police Commissioner BS Bassi was Tuesday (5.1.2016)  appointed as a member of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Bassi will have the tenure of about five years till February 2021. Under the Constitution, a member of the UPSC can have a maximum of six-year tenure or till he attains the age of 65 years. Mr. Bassi’s purported appointment, which would lead him to replace former Delhi Police Commissioner and UPSC Chairman Dr. K.K. Paul. Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts the civil services examination to select IAS and IPS officers among others. The Commission has a maximum strength of 10 members besides a Chairperson.


About BS Bassi

  1. A 1977 batch IPS officer of Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territories (AGMUT) cadre, Bassi retired as Delhi Police chief in February this year after completing 60 years.
  2. He is the second Delhi Police chief to get a post-retirement post at the UPSC over the last decade.
  3. Uttarakhand governor KK Paul was the last police chief from the Capital to make it to the commission in 2007. He served till 2013 and was later given gubernatorial assignment by the UPA government.
  4. Bassi was appointed to the police chief’s post by the UPA’s home minister in 2013 Sushil Kumar Shinde.

About UPSC

  1. The first Public Service Commission was set up on October 1st, 1926.
  2. The Union Public Service Commission  is India’s central agency authorised to conduct the Civil Services Examination, Indian Forest Service examination, Engineering Services Examination, CDS, NDA etc.
  3. The Union Public Service Commission has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India.
  4. The Commission consists of a Chairman and ten Members.
  5. The terms and conditions of service of Chairman and Members of the Commission are governed by the Union Public Service Commission (Members) Regulations, 1969.

Rules/Guidelines of appointment of a UPSC member

1. The Chairman and other members of a Public Service Commission shall be appointed, in the case of the Union Commission or a Joint Commission, by the President, and in the case of a State Commission, by the Governor.

2. A member of the UPSC can have a maximum of six-year tenure or till he attains the age of 65 years.

3. According to the Article 319, a member other than the Chairman of a State Public Service Commission shall be eligible for appointment as the Chairman or any other member of the Union Public Service Commission or as the Chairman of that of any other State Public Service Commission, but not for any other employment either under the Government of India or under the Government of a State.

Alka Sirohi, David R Syiemlieh, Manbir Singh, Former Navy Vice Chief D K Dewan, Vinay Mittal, Chhatar Singh, Prof Hem Chandra, Arvind Saxena and Prof Pradeep Kumar Joshi are other current members of the UPSC, headed by Deepak Gupta as its Chairman.

Current Controversy about BS Bassi

BS Bassi was in controversy because of his regular statements in connection with the controversial JNU event 2016.

For our daily post related to UPSC, keep visiting this link.

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.