Know about PRASAD Scheme, a scheme for religious sentiments

PRASAD Scheme full form– Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive Pilgrimage Tourism in India

India is a land of many religions like Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism and Sufism having their major pilgrimage centers in different parts of the country. The growth of domestic tourism largely depends on pilgrimage tourism which is motivated partly or wholly by religious sentiments. Let’s know about PRASAD scheme that is a very important topic for your UPSC or SSC exam.


There are 12 cities under the PRASAD scheme: (source GKTODAY)

– Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh)
– Gaya(Bihar)
– Dwaraka(Gujarat)
– Amritsar(Punjab)
– Ajmer(Rajasthan)
– Kanchipuram(Tamil Nadu)
– Vellankani(Tamil Nadu)
– Puri(Odisha)
– Varanasi(Uttar Prasesh)
– Mathura(Uttar Pradesh)
– Kedarnath (Uttarakhand) and
– Kamakhya (Assam).


Challenges for Pilgrimage tourism in India

The challenges to pilgrimage tourism are lack of infrastructure like budget hotels, roads, last mile connectivity, sewage, hygiene and cleanliness, solid waste management, lack of awareness, developing a code of religious etiquette to be observed by the religious tourists, etc.



  1. Integrated development of pilgrimage destinations in a planned prioritised and sustainable manner to provide complete religious experience.
  2. Follow community-based development and pro-poor tourism concept in development of pilgrimage destinations.
  3. Creating awareness among the local communities about the importance of tourism for them in terms of increase in sources of income, improved living standards and overall development of the area.
  4. Promote local arts, culture, handicrafts, cuisine, etc to generate livelihoods in the identified regions.
  5. Harness tourism potential for its direct and multiplier effects in employment generation and economic development.
  6. Enhancing the tourist attractiveness in a sustainable manner by developing world-class infrastructure in the religious destinations.


  1. This scheme will be implemented as a Central Sector Scheme during the 12th five-year plan and beyond.
  2. A National Steering Committee (NSC) will be constituted with Minister in charge of M/O Tourism as Chairman, with the responsibility of overall guidance, review and monitoring of the scheme.
  3. There will be a Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee responsible for sanctioning of the projects submitted by the mission directorate and regular monitoring of the progress of implementation.
  4. A Mission Directorate headed by the Member Secretary, NSC as the nodal officer will help in identification of projects in consultation with the States/ UT governments and other stake holders.
  5. Project Management Consultant will be a National Level Consultant to be appointed by Mission Directorate with the responsibility of preparation of Detailed Project Reports.

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.