Notes on Swadesh Darshan Scheme – Features and Objectives

Today we will discuss about “ Swadesh Darshan Scheme ” launched by Central Govt of India (The Ministry of Tourism (MoT). For examinations like UPSC, SSC etc. they can throw questions from this scheme that is dedicated for the development of tourist circuits around specific themes. Let us discuss about this scheme’s features and objectives. We will also discuss what is a tourist circuit!

Swadesh Darshan Scheme

 The Ministry of Tourism (MoT), Government of India has formulated a plan scheme Swadesh Darshan for integrated development of tourist circuits around specific themes. The five circuits identified under this Scheme are Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit and North-East Circuit.

These circuits/destinations cover major and relevant tourist places and attractions and have a mix of culture, heritage, spiritualism, and Ecotourism to give a holistic perspective of the country.

Tourism contributes foreign exchange in a big way to the exchequer of India and it contributes 6.8 percent of the GDP share in India.

What is a Tourist Circuit?

A Tourist Circuit is defined as a route on which atleast three major tourist destinations are located such that none of these are in the same town, village or city. At the same time, it would be ensured that they are not separated by a long distance. It should have well defined entry and exit points. A tourist who enters should get motivated to visit all the places identified in the circuit.

Theme based tourist circuit is a tourist circuit around specific themes, such as religion, culture, ethnicity, niche, etc. It can be confined to a state or could be a regional circuit covering more than a State/Union territory.

Objective of Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

  1. Integrated development of Infrastructure in identified theme based circuits.
  2. Provide complete tourism experience with varied thematic circuits.
  3. Follow community-based development and pro-poor tourism approach.
  4. Creating awareness among the local communities about the importance of tourism for them in terms of increase in sources of income, improved living standards and overall development of the area.
  5. Promote local arts, culture, handicrafts, cuisine, etc to generate livelihoods in the identified regions.
  6. Harness tourism potential for its direct and multiplier effects in employment generation and economic development.

Features of Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

  • The scheme is 100% centrally funded for the project components undertaken for public funding.
  • To leverage the voluntary funding available for Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives of Central Public Sector Undertakings and corporate sector.
  • Funding of individual project will vary from state to state and will be finalised on the basis of detailed project reports prepared by PMC (Programme Management Consultant).
  • A National Steering Committee (NSC) will be constituted with Minister in charge of M/O Tourism as Chairman, to steer the mission objectives and vision of the scheme.
  • A Mission Directorate headed by the Member Secretary, NSC as a nodal officer will help in identification of projects in consultation with the States/ UTs governments and other stake holders.
  • PMC will be a national level consultant to be appointed by the Mission Directorate.

Also Read About:-

  1. Notes on HRIDAY Scheme
  2. Notes on PRASAD Scheme
  3. Notes on KAYALALP Scheme

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.