Rahane and Rohit Sharma conferred Arujna Award

Rahane and Rohit Sharma conferred Arujna Award

Cricketer Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma have been conferred most prestigious award Arjuna Award by the Sports Minister Vijay Goel at a function in New Delhi.  Rohit Sharma was given the award for the year 2015 and Ajinkya Rahane for the year 2016. However, earlier these two cricketers could not receive the awards from the President Pranab Mukherjee as they were participating in international tournaments.

Rahane and Sharma, who have been named in the Indian team for the three-Test series against New Zealand, beginning on 22 September, were honoured with the Arjuna Awards at a function held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The Arjuna Award is given for consistent performances over four years. While Rahane has amassed over 4,000 international runs in 113 matches, Rohit has scored over 7,000 for India in 228 appearances.

About Aruja Award

  • The Arjuna Awards was instituted in 1961
  • The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.
  • They are given to sportspersons for consistent outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award and who have also shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

The awardees are given a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress and prize money of Rs 5 lakh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.