Captain Amarinder Singh became 26th CM of Punjab

Congress leader Captain Amarinder Singh became 26th Chief Minister (CM) of Punjab on 16th March 2017. On the other hand, Navjot Singh Siddhu swore in as a Cabinet Minister of Punjab. Congress won in the Assembly election 2017. Amrinder Singh is a former army captain. He also served as a deputy leader of the opposition in the 16th Lok Sabha till 2016. This is the second term he is serving as a chief minister. Capt. Amarinder took oath of the office in the presence of Governor V.P. Singh Badnore at the swearing-in ceremony which was held at the Punjab Raj Bhawan, Chandigarh.

The Congress grabbed 77 seats in the recent Assembly election and has come to power after a decade by getting a clear majority. The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal faced one of its worst electoral defeat as it managed to win only 18 seats along with its ally BJP.

Do you know?

Who is the current CM of Goa? Click to know

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.